English Department – Wheaton Academy
Inquire
Visit
Apply

English Department

The English Department places a strong value on both literature and writing. Courses in the English curriculum develop students’ oral and written communication skills, preparing them to function effectively in the world. In addition, the study of great literature provides students with the opportunity to examine key life questions, to appreciate the value of story, and to enhance their reading skills. A strong emphasis is placed on developing critical and analytical writing skills in all English classes.

English Department Faculty

Daniel Ball

English Faculty

630-562-7570
dball@wheatonacademy.org

Gerard Cruz

English Faculty; Bible Faculty

630-562-3420
gcruz@wheatonacademy.org

Matt Dominguez, ’91

Bible Faculty; English Faculty

630-562-7525
mdominguez@wheatonacademy.org

Brigitta Engebretsen, ’11

English Faculty

630-562-7561
bengebretsen@wheatonacademy.org

Madeline Hazel

English Faculty

630-562-7537
mhazel@wheatonacademy.org

Lisa Kainer

English Faculty

630-562-3414
lkainer@wheatonacademy.org

Trish Main

World Languages Department Head; English Department Co-Head; English Faculty

630-562-7521
tmain@wheatonacademy.org

Brad Skeba, ’04

English Faculty

630-562-7533
bskeba@wheatonacademy.org

Brad Thornton

Vice Principal for Instruction; English Department Co-Head

630-562-7530
bthornton@wheatonacademy.org