Video Production Team Wins Crystal Pillar

In February, the Wheaton Academy Girls Basketball team played their senior night against Ridgewood High School. The game was produced by a team of nine students from our Sports Broadcasting class. Elijah Walker, Minh Do, Lainee Jones and Hans Lu were all camera operators. Elijah Felix was our technical director; Nate Wilding was responsible for graphics; and Kenna Tolman was the student producer. Carlton Arthurs, Brennan Van Meter and Noah Taritas were all on the mic, giving us play-by-play and commentary. 

The broadcast was recognized by the Chicago/Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and received a Crystal Pillar Award – the equivalent to a high school Emmy award. The students specifically recognized for the Crystal Pillar award are Carlton Arthurs, Noah Taritas, Brennan Van Meter, and Nate Wilding.

Two weeks later, the same broadcast won first place in the category of Live Sports Production from the Student Television Network.

The livestream team continues to work hard this spring as Wheaton Academy concludes an intensive sports season. In addition to broadcasting regular chapels and fine arts events, the team livestreams many athletics events so that friends and family are able to enjoy these competitions from home. Be sure to subscribe to the WATV YouTube channel so you don’t miss a game!